Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-12-09 - 9:47 a.m.

As if it were possible to be any more tired�

Couldn�t tell ya why really. I was in bed last night at a reasonable time I guess. But it seems that of late I haven�t been sleeping very well. Perhaps it is the bed. But every night now I seem to manage to put an arm to sleep and two hours in to snoozing I am woken up by this particularly uncomfortable feeling. It is really beginning to suck eggs. I guess the bed might need more water in it, or perhaps it is like Spinedoc said, and I am SO out of alignment that I am pinching something when I am asleep. I dunno�in fact I really don�t care what is causing it. I just want it to go away.

So I was driving in to work this morning when I saw a terrible terrible thing.

*And I warn yall�you may want to skip over this. I�m serious.*




On the way into work today I witnessed someone�s cat get run over by a car. And that really sucked. A lot�It was such a pretty cat too. She had long black hair with a white spot on her chest. And I didn�t stop. I just took a deep breath and drove on�all the while trying to drive the demons out of my head.

I was 13 years old when Daphne was killed in much the same way. She was my Grandpa�s (and my) favorite cat. She was a little gray thing with a variety of different colored spots all over her, and unlike her 2 brothers (who were long gray haired things) Daphne had short hair. She was a mischievous and playful little creature who was the most adventuresome of the litter. She was the first to explore the world, while her brothers followed a good distance behind her. She was always at the center of trouble, getting into one thing after another. She was the brave one. She was the affectionate one. She was the best. She was only a litter over a year old�So why her?

It was late fall when I was walking down to the bus stop when I found her in the road. She had been run over by a car earlier that morning. Her back and rear legs had been crushed�but she didn�t die right away. In fact it was pretty obvious that she had tried to drag herself back to the house�Looking for her family I guess. But as you can imagine, she didn�t make it but dozen or so feet. She died alone and in sight of her home. I was devastated when I found her that morning. She was so young and spunky�and now she was gone. I picked her up and carried back to the house (missing my bus in the process) and my Grandpa took care of her from there (I still had to go to school). I was quite a lesson in life for a 13-year-old, and one that took me a fair amount of time to become numb to�that image of her, dead�and even now I find that those memories come back in a rush every time I see someone�s pet crushed in the road.

And as I drive by I can�t help but wonder�is a child going to find their beloved buddy lying dead in the street as they walk to school?

Learning to accept death as a part of life is a necessary step in growing up�but I can�t help but think that there has to be a better way.




My biggest complaint about winter is the dry heat. Just like I have problems with air conditioning in the summer, I also have problems with heat in the winter. Granted I LIKE having heat, and I will not turn it off like I am prone to do with A/C, but that doesn�t change the fact that I despise feeling all dry and stuff until spring. Why does it have to be a dry heat anyway? Sigh�I guess that is just it�s nature. But I seem to nearly dip myself in lotion all winter long. My hands get all dry and cracked, my face gets all tight feeling, and worst of all my sinuses, throat, and eyes dry out. Bah�I guess I am damned either way though�If I stay inside the heat bleeds the moisture from my body, and I if I spend all my time outside, the wind and the cold leaves me in not much better shape. Ugh�and the sad thing is winter and fall are my favorite times of the year. Go figure�




Guess that is all I really have to talk about today�It is kinda hard for me to focus on much of anything. I ran out of meds this weekend, and it seems that everytime I get to the doctor�s office to pick up my new prescriptions they are closed�Perhaps I can get over there during lunch today�




So today I learned that�

Knock Knock�

Who�s there?

Rangers Goalie

Rangers Goalie wh�BRUINS SCORE!!!!

I�m telling ya, those guys are En Fuego! But then as Puckeater is always so kind to point put�the regular season doesn�t mean squat when you get put out in the first round of the playoffs. Sigh�he�s right ya know.

So what have yall learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com